Need a little advice on Missouri river catfishing

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    rob

Post Thanks / Like

Default Need a little advice on Missouri river catfishing

I am kinda new to this catfishing thing. i caught some as a kid but never went serious until recently. Did manage to get the wife into it tho and its something we can do together that we both enjoy. However, all we seem to catch in the local lakes and such are little ones. I would like to get into the fish that you guys are talking about out of the missouri river but don't know how to get started. I have a couple of big cat rods and reels spooled with 20lb line but really don't know what to do with them. Any help? I am pretty confident we would be content with a couple of stringers of 5-10lb fish. I do have a 16ft. jon boat with a little trolling motor but no outboard but m looking for one. Thanks in advance for the help I am sure I will get.

john
    Post Thanks / Like

Ranks Showcase

Default Need a little advice

Hi rob and welcome to the best catfising site on the web. There are some big fish in the Missouri just waiting for you and your Bride.First I would recomend you useLive bait shad, bluegills,chubs or cutbait of the same. larger cats (channels,flats,and blues) prefer live bait or fresh cut bait.If your fishing from the bank I would try and find some structure log jams, wing dikes. Or channel breaks or deep holes in the daytime. Structure is important so try to find it if possible and place your bait by it. also when you get a motor it will open up alot of different options. I wouldent put the flat bottom on the big mo. with just a trolling motor though as I feel you would be asking for trouble it (the river) just runs to swift. but you might also try driftfishing on some lakes It works great, Just let the wind move you and you can cover alot of area. Hope this helps. Bigcatman0816.:big_smile:

Jeb
    Post Thanks / Like

Ranks Showcase