Can I shoot any slug through a modified choke tube?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Richard Morrison
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Default Can I shoot any slug through a modified choke tube?

I got a question. I am new to barrels with choke tubes. I got a remington 870 express 3 inch chamber 12 gauge and I and wondering if I can shoot any slug out of the mod. choke tube in a bird barrel. I heard from the salesman at basspro that I cant shoot anyhting but bird shot he said buck shot isnt even reccomended. But I think he might of just been trying to make another $300 dollar sale. so I did some research online and every one says 00 is fine throught a mod. choke tube but the slug deal is a confusing conversation. I know I cant shoot a Sabot slug out of it. But how about a rifled slug or any other type of slug? Thanks

Preston Hobbs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Ranks Showcase

If it is a rifled choke tube,you can shoot a rifled slug.If not,shoot sabots.If the barrel or choke tube isn't rifled the rifled slug won't be as accurate as the sabot.

Richard Morrison
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Hmm I keep hearing that a rifled slug shot out of anything other than a fully rifled barrel can be up to 1ft off target. My barrel is just a bird barrel with the modified choke tube that came with it. But the fully rifled barrel is $320 for the cantilever or $210 for the rifle sighted one. Well I only paid $200 for the Gun with bird barrel I dont want to pay more for a barrel than I did for the gun but if I have to I will or maybe look for a smooth bore at a used gun shop or Even heard good thing about pawn shop guns But i have never been to a pawn shop. Thanks for the Input!!

Jon
    Post Thanks / Like

Default This is my recommendation