Flathead catfish in Creeks?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Clyde

Post Thanks / Like

Default Flathead catfish in Creeks?

Hey everyone! I've been fishing since i was 3 years old for everything in freshwater. Catfishing has to be my favorite next to Bassin' I live in Indiana and dont have a boat, so my locations are limited to bank fishing. I mostly fish in a creek close to my house called Walnut Creek (which is killer for smallies). Its probably 30-40 feet across at the widest and there are few holes over my head. I know there are big flatheads in it because last year i was using a bluegill for bait about as long as a pop can. i was sitting on a bend casted downstream and my rod started bending. I set the hook and it never even slowed down just snapped my 20lbs line like it was dental floss. im lucky it didnt take my pole with it. but since then ive had no luck or even finding flatheads even with smaller bait. what are flathead behavioral patterns in creeks? any different in big rivers?

Rick
    Post Thanks / Like