Sea Ark ?'s - Conventional MV vs Tunnel

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Fred

Post Thanks / Like

Default Sea Ark ?'s - Conventional MV vs Tunnel

I'm considering a Sea Ark 2072 for an all-around fishing and hunting boat. I have never owned a boat before and need to ask some embarassing ?'s.

At what water depth, does one benefit from having a tunnel hull with a prop or jet outboard? Compared to a conventional mv (3 degree deadrise) / prop outboard?

I know that the tunnel hull on plane will run in inches but isn't a lot of the advantage lost at slow speed?

Thanks-Fred

TF
    Paul
    Post Thanks / Like

Ranks Showcase

Fred, good question. Now I am not a boat expert by any means, but do haunt what is considered a snag infested southern swamp river.

For this area, when its low, low being 3.5 - 4.7 guage level, we all do fine with a 3 degree hull.

You just have to watch it.

If you are doing some hardcore running, and don't want to spring for a jet, a tunnel would be the best bet.

But what people call shallow is subjective.

You ask me, my river gets shallow.

You ask Mark_J, he will say 6" is shallow, and have you building a super board boat.

- You run average shallow rivers, 3 degree hull.

- Power of a prop, low maintenance of a prop, really shallow running water go Tunnel...

- True hard core skinny water, or peace of mind, loss of power, go a jet.

- Best of course would be your river pro line, big $$$, 200HP inboard Merc Jets..

- A good lower cost solution would be your traditional outboard jets.

TF
    Paul
    Post Thanks / Like

Ranks Showcase

For reference, so you know I am not biased, I am sponsored by Sea Ark, and run a 1966 G3 DLX center console.

Then for further confusion, took off the outboard they are partnered with, and re-powered with an ETEC.

Horse-MON
    Keith
    Post Thanks / Like

Ranks Showcase

Roger doger 10-4 on the ETEC.

TF
    Paul
    Post Thanks / Like

Ranks Showcase

I really like those ETEC's myself.. :biggrin:

john fisher