Quantcast
Strip built kayak

In Memory of MRR

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Larry
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Strip built kayak

I am pondering a strip built kayak project.... What are you experienced guys thoughts about this type of yak and building one?
    larry

Mark Johnson
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by IA Flatcatter View Post
    I am pondering a strip built kayak project.... What are you experienced guys thoughts about this type of yak and building one?
    larry
    I would do a stitch and glue first if for anything the experience of working with molds and epoxy. Stitch and glue is what i would consider a self taught introductory course into boat building. It only requires the tools you probally already own.

Most folks don't want to paint a stripper. In order for that beautiful natural finish to be beautiful I'd definately build by another method first.

As for cost, the strips aren't that cheap. I was pricing some Alaskan cedar the other day at over a dollar a foot already milled.
    Of course I know someone locally that goes to Lowes and buys cedar siding and cuts and mills herself. The problem she has is numerous trips to Lowes digging through the stacks of siding to get the good planks.
    She builds some beautiful strippers.

You can buy one router bit that will cut the cove and the bead. Still requires a good tablesaw to cut the strips. The other thing is length of the strips.
    If you are building a 15 foot yak, you want strips long enough for a run down the hull unless you just like scarfing and piecing.

The October issue of Woodenboat Magazine has a feature build that will last over several issues. It's a strip built skiff. If you plan to strip build I would follow that series. It shows mold setup and the stripping. Although these strips are about an 1-1/2" wide it's still the same method.
    Alot of little tricks to strip building.