Quantcast
pond / lake turnover

In Memory of MRR

Billy

Post Thanks / Like

Default pond / lake turnover

I have been fishing a local reservoir / small lake for several years - except for this year - been a very good spot for flatheads and channel cat. Sometime this spring - it had a major fish kill and was closed by IDNR for most of the fishing season. Officially - no word was given for the kill - so I have avoided enjoying this particular spot. I got word from another guy that used to hit this as well that seems it was deemed lake turnover. I researched it and found alot of info on this phenomenen. But I didn't find alot of info about how it affected the remaining fish. Can anyone share their experience with this?

I really have missed fishing this place as it is very secluded and always produces some very interesting catches...hope someone can help!!:0a21:

Brian Hupp
    Post Thanks / Like

Depends on the reason for the turnover and fish kill would be my guess. The IDNR probably wants to send biologists to take water samples and figure out the reasons before fish are taken out of it. It could be a toxin or polluted run off from a farmer field or something along those lines that could have been the reason.

Billy

Post Thanks / Like

Yep - that was the first thing I thought of too. But apparently this wasn't the case - a natural phenom - just haven't really seen this occur.

JEFFRO
    Post Thanks / Like

local lake here had a simular problem and i was told it was a turnover, but then golden algae(most likely) then newspaper said it was fertilizer run off :roll_eyes:, newspaper had 0 facts to back it up and caused a big scare with people being afraid to eat the fish, and here we are a few months later, people still eating the fish and are just fine..i dont know what it is..hopefully your situation gets a better answer than mine has

Brian Hupp
    Post Thanks / Like